From Department Chair Louann Reid:

Five faculty members were notified on Dec. 12 that they had received an award from the College of Liberal Arts. The awards will be presented at the spring CLA Faculty/Staff Meeting.

The Faculty Development Fund provides support for outstanding research and/or creative activity. Faculty submit a project proposal and, College-wide, 5 to 7 are funded each year with a summer stipend. The recipients in the English department are Tobi Jacobi, for “Incorrigible Girls: Research Findings from the NY State Training School for Girls, 1921-32; Zach Hutchins, for “Before Equiano: A Prehistory of the North American Slave Narrative”; and E.J. Levy, for “The Cape Doctor.”

CLA awards are given in several categories including teaching, outreach, development, and service. Faculty are nominated for these awards.

The CLA Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize exemplary teaching and are given to only one faculty member in each of 4 categories. The award includes a plaque and an honorarium. This year’s award in the Associate Professor category goes to Pam Coke.

The John N. Stern Distinguished Professor Award is presented annually by the College of Liberal Arts to honor faculty who have demonstrated exemplary accomplishments in all aspects of their professional responsibilities over an extended period of time. The award includes a plaque and an honorarium. This year’s award goes to Leslee Becker.

Our department has numerous outstanding teachers, scholars, and creative artists, who give generously of their time to the department, college, and community. My thanks go to the nominations committee of Zach Hutchins, Leslee Becker, and Bruce Shields, who helped several faculty members prepare their nominations for various CLA awards. We appreciate the effort it takes to prepare a nomination packet and recognize the excellence of all who were nominated.