image by Jill Salahub
image by Jill Salahub
  • Spring Break at CSU begins Saturday, March 14 and ends Sunday, March 22.
  • Next week, Tim Amidon will be traveling to Tampa, Florida to attend the Conference on College Composition and Communication. While at CCCCs, he will be leading the annual meeting of CCCC Intellectual Property (IP) Caucus, attending a meeting of the CCCC (IP) Committee, chairing a roundtable discussion of IP luminaries that includes a representative of the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, and presenting a talk during a roundtable entitled “Researching Extracurricular Literacies through Interdisciplinary Practices. Follow the conference virtually with hashtag #4c15; follow activity related to the CCCC IP Caucus by following #4cIP and/or #ask4cIP.
  • From March 10-12 Camille Dungy was the Aetna Writer in Residency at the University of Connecticut where she gave a poetry reading, visited classes, and conducted several tutorials.
  • From March 13-15 Camille Dungy was a presenter at the Geography of Hope: Women and the Land.  “The biennial Geography of Hope Conference brings together leading writers and activists in the coastal village of Point Reyes Station for a three-day feast of readings, discussions, and activities to inspire and deepen an understanding of the relationships between people and place.”  Presenters: M. Kat Anderson; Camille Dungy; Gretel Ehrlich; Carolyn Finney; Susan Griffin; Robert Hass; Brenda Hillman; Wendy Johnson; Robin Wall Kimmerer; Kathleen Dean Moore; Melissa K. Nelson; Ann Pancake; Claire Peaslee; Rhiannon; Kim Stanley Robinson; Lauret Savoy; Rebecca Solnit, Priscilla Ybarra.
  • Antero Garcia has a co-authored study on “Race to the White House” featured on the recently launched Civic Media Project Website. His work is featured in the Play & Creativity section found here:
  • EJ Levy was a visiting writer at Hope College and Albion College in Michigan from March 3-6.
  • Man in the Moon: Essays on Fathers & Fatherhood (Center for Literary Publishing, Stephanie G’Schwind, ed.) has been named a finalist for Foreword Reviews’ Indiefab Book of the Year Award in the anthology category. Winners will be announced at the end of June at the American Library Association’s annual conference. maninthemoon

Outstanding Literary Essay Awards – Submissions due by April 6th


The English Department’s Literature Program announces the 12th annual Outstanding Literary Essay Awards contest, which recognizes outstanding critical writing and interpretive work in literary studies. Applicants must be registered graduate or undergraduate English majors.  Awards of $100 for first place, $75 for second place, and $50 for third place will be offered at both the graduate and undergraduate level.  Winners will be honored at the English Department Awards on Monday, April 27, 2015.


Submission Guidelines: Students should submit an essay that represents their best critical work in literary studies. Undergraduate essays should be no longer than 15 pages and graduate essays should be no longer than 20 pages. Shorter papers are welcome. Only one submission is allowed per student.


Submission deadline is Monday April 6, 2015, at 5:00 p.m.

Please submit TWO clean copies, with no name, address, or instructor’s comments. Only a title and page numbers should appear. Include with your essay a separate cover letter with your name, address, phone number, e-mail address, university ID number, and title of your essay. Also indicate the course for which the essay was written (if it was composed for a course) and the professor who taught the course. Indicate whether you are an undergraduate or graduate student at CSU. Address your cover letter to: Professor Aparna Gollapudi, Department of English, Campus Delivery 1773, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO 80523-1773. Cover letter and submissions can be dropped off at the Behavioral Sciences Building, Room A104.