Loading Map....

Date(s) - October 20, 2022
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Longs Peak Room, Lory Student Center


The Creative Writing Reading Series presents Mitchell S. Jackson and Lacy M. Johnson

Lory Student Center, Longs Peak Room at 7:30 pm


Author photo of Mitchell S. Jackson

Mitchell S. Jackson is the winner of the 2021 Pulitzer Prize in Feature Writing and the 2021 National Magazine Award in Feature Writing. His debut novel The Residue Years received wide critical praise and won a Whiting Award and The Ernest J. Gaines Prize for Literary Excellence. His nonfiction book Survival Math: Notes on an All-American Family was published in 2019 and named a best book of the year by fifteen publications. His writing has been featured on This American Life, on the cover of the New York Times Book ReviewTime MagazineEsquire Magazine, and Marie Claire Magazine, as well as in The New Yorker, The New York Times, Harper’s Magazine, Harper’s Bazaar Magazine, The Paris Review, The Washington Post Magazine, The Guardian, and elsewhere.




Author portrait of Lacy M. Johnson


Lacy M. Johnson is the author of The Reckonings, named a National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist in Criticism and one of the best books of 2018 by Boston Globe, Electric Literature, Autostraddle, and Refinery 29. She is also the author of The Other Side, which was lauded for its frank and fearless confrontation of the epidemic of violence against women, and named a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Autobiography, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, an Edgar Award in Best Fact Crime, the CLMP Firecracker Award in Nonfiction, and a Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writer Selection.